Buy Tickets

History of North America Cup

History & Records Facts & Figures Winners Ledger



    2017 marks the 34th edition of the Pepsi North America Cup.

It takes awhile to build history and tradition. In the case of the Pepsi North America Cup, staged for the first time in 1984, the past 33 years have indeed shaped the event as one of the standards of excellence in harness racing. The continent's finest three year-old pacers, a million dollar purse, and dramatic finishes, have all factored into establishing the Cup as a world class sporting event.

A glance at some of the past winners bears truth to the calibre of horses involved: Somebeachsomewhere, Jate Lobell, Precious Bunny, Presidential Ball and Gallo Blue Chip - all claimed the title with memorable performances. 

Before it became known as the North America Cup in 1984, it was called the Queen City Pace. The late great "Pacing Machine" Cam Fella, won the 1982 edition, and later sired four Cup champions (Goalie Jeff, Precious Bunny, Presidential Ball and Cams Card Shark). 

In 2008, pacing phenom Somebeachsomewhere lived up to the incredible pre-race hype by devastating the competition in 1:49. It was perhaps the mostly highly-anticipated NA Cup performance and the 'Beach' delivered to the cheers of more than 10,000 adoring fans.

This year at Mohawk, we look forward to adding another great champion to the list of Pepsi North America Cup winners. We hope you enjoy this classic race, featuring the very best the sport has to offer.

WEG's former racing analyst Mike Hamilton has been tracking the Pepsi North America Cup since it first began back in 1984.  Each year, he provides some unique historical facts and figures surrounding Canada's richest harness race. Woodbine Entertainment's Communications Department has also compiled some great statistical information on previous drivers and trainers.  ​

Crunching the Cup - Pepsi North America Cup​